Nine Day of Navratri Celebration | Nine Avatars of Maa Durga

Navratri, the nine sacred days, are the most auspicious days according to Hinduism. All over north India, this festival is celebrated with great joy. These nine days are dedicated to Maa Durga and her nine avatars.


Nine Day of Navratri Celebration

The story behind this festivity is about the battle that took place between Maa Durga and a demon Mahishasura, representing egotism. All the nine days of the festival are dedicated to each avatar of Maa Durga and they each have a color associated with it which devotees have to wear while taking part in all the festivities.

Nine Avatars of Maa Durga And Colors Associated | Nine Day of Navratri

Day 1: ShailputriShailputri

She is considered as the embodiment that has the collective power of Vishnu, Brahma and Mahesh. This was the form of the goddess which was worshipped as Shiva’s consort. It depicts action and vigour and that’s why the color for day 1 is red.

Day 2: BrahmachariniBrahmacharini

She is the one who practices devout. With a blissful nature, she endows peace, prosperity, happiness and grace upon all her devotees. She is filled with happiness and bliss and is a way to moksha. With being a synonym to calm yet powerful energy, the color of the second day is royal blue.

Day 3: Chandraghanta Chandraghanta

This avatar represents the grace and the beauty and she is worshipped for peace, prosperity and tranquillity on the third day. She possesses great strength and is the Apostle of bravery and the color is yellow.

Day 4: KushmundaKushmunda

This one is considered as the one who created the universe. It is said that she created this universe with a bout of laughter and then made it verdant with the vegetation, making the color of the day Green.

Day 5: Skand Mata Skandamata

The mother of Kartikeya or Skanda, she was chosen as the commander-in-chief in the war that war against demons. Skanda accompanies her in the infant form. As it shows that a vulnerable mother can turn into a dark storm cloud when it comes to protecting her child, the color becomes grey.

Day 6: Katyayani Katyayani

Being born to a great sage, Kata, as an avatar of Maa Durga, she exhibited immense courage as she was dressed in orange. Therefore, the color of this day is orange.

Day 7: Kalratri Kalratri

Because of the dark complexion she had, dishevelled hair and a fearless posture, she is like Kali. She is the most fierce of all the forms of goddess Durga. She is always dressed in white and has three eyes that shine bright. She wears white and that color shows peace and prayer. That’s why the color is white on day 7.

Day 8: Maha GauriMaha Gauri

The intelligent, calm and peaceful avatar. It is believed that she was transformed into the black after being white when she was in long austerities in Himalayas’ deep forests. But when Shiva cleaned her with Ganga water, she turned back to white and came to know as Maha Gauri. The color of this day is pink showing the fresh start and denoting hope.

Day 9: SiddhidatriSiddhidatri

This avatar has supernatural healing powers. She is always in a happy state and has four arms. She blesses everyone like a mother goddess. The color of the last day is sky blue as she shows the blissful nature just like the sky is on a clear day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *